BELKIN Shield Fade Matte for MacBook Air 11.

NOTE: Hey, it’s my first ever technology-related post!

It’s been said that keeping a MacBook without a protective casing is sort of like “mortal sin” to an Apple user. Since I’ve started using my laptop a year and a half ago, I’ve been told to get a casing for it. I’ve been trying to convince myself that I didn’t really need one, but today, I came to my senses and finally bought one. It was really hard for me to spend that much money on a case, but I figured that it’s a good asset to have. I bought it for function, so I guess there’s no reason to be so hard on myself. Cheapo casings for my laptop’s model are pretty hard to come across, and why gamble with something that could cause damage in the long run?

image

I must’ve gone to the Power Mac Center (SM BF Homes Parañaque) four times today before actually buying it. I’d come in, head for the display, mindlessly stare at the cases, and leave. I had a feeling that the Sales Associate could tell that I was seriously contemplating it. It’s my way of making restraining impulse.

I finally decided on a BELKIN Shield Fade Matte. No, it wasn’t because I didn’t like the Hard Candy colors. I just wanted something less transluscent. I get a bit uncomfortable when the white lit-up Apple logo is seen when I use my laptop in public, and I was hoping that a more transluscent case would tone it down. Having said that, I guess it’s a bit easier now to figure out where I stand on hard cases with the Apple logo cut out.

Here’s a screenshot from the Belkin site.

image

Oh yeah, I did get the pink one, and yes, it does tone down the brightly-lit Apple logo.

image

I took this picture at the store, by the way. I was probably thinking, “Okay, this purchase feels right.”

I didn’t notice it on the first three times I went, but it’s actually two-toned— even cooler. I got a pink one, I had a choice between a pink one and an orange one. Seriously, both colors reminded me so much of the SMASHBOX Heat Wave

image

Putting it on was rather easy. I’ve heard of magnetic cases, but mine’s a nice plastic one that snaps on. It made the laptop just slightly heavier, but considering how light it already is, the extra weight isn’t that much of a big deal. I’d also like to add that it feels somewhat textured, and not just plain and plasticky. It gives it a greater sense of durability. When you think about it, that’s the point, isn’t it?

image

One tiny issue about it is that it decreases the laptop screen’s inclination to just 90°. Without it, the MacBook air can incline up to, hmm.. maybe 130°. I don’t have that much of a problem with the 90° though, but I can see how other people may.

I’m really happy with my new case. I’m hating myself a bit for spending a lot on it, but it might just be because I count too much (so Asian). I’m not the type who’d refer to things as “babies” (though I do sometimes feel that my laptop’s a girl, and my cell phone’s a guy), but there’s this border between taking care of things and having an abnormal love for them. Please God, don’t let me wander astray.

Leave a Reply

